I’ve definitely decided:  I need to get back to my Adult Faith Formation classes at UD.  I thought I would take time to study independently, but I simply don’t have that kind of discipline right now.  I need a more structured kind of studying right now.  And I need studying, period.  Particularly theological studies.

At the very least, i am going to take the Christology class.  Because I just love Christ!  I know that probably sounds absurdly self-evident coming from a Christian.  But how often is it cited as a prime motivation for spending 3 and a half hours on a Saturday morning in a university classroom?  I also know Christians who would tell me that I’ll never get to know–much less love–Christ by sitting in a classroom or poring over books (unless it happens to be The Good Book, of course).

Oh, that couldn’t be farther from the truth!  When we love somebody, don’t we pour everything we’ve got into knowing them and loving them?  Including our minds?  My mind is yearning greatly for my Beloved!  Any experience of Him will only be partial without the intellectual experience.  I know our intellects can only go so far, but they can take us somewhere!  In fact, I would consider the intellect an integral set of bricks in the road: knowing leads to greater loving… and loving leads to a greater need for knowing.  I am deeply within that need right now!

In the meantime, I am trying to express my love in new and creative ways, in my writing projects.  For those who don’t know, I have several writing projects, at various phases of development.  Some are fiction, some are non-fiction.  I write the odd poem as well, when the inspiration hits me.  Now that I mention it, I think poetry might fit the bill nicely…

