In Canada, quite possibly so, according to this article by Peter Vere.  Mr. Vere also warns us in the U.S. not to be complacent with our religious freedoms.  (HT for article:  Fr. Philip Powell, OP)

Gosh.  To think that Catholics and other Christians could suffer persecutions in my part of the world and during my lifetime is appalling… stunning… and yet not terribly surprising!  After all, I know firsthand just how much, how irrationally, and how venomously people can hate the Church and her people–I did it for quite a while.  There were times when I daydreamed of Catholicism being essentially outlawed.  I said, “Bring on the persecutions!”  So, ever since I rejoined the Church a little over 3 years ago, I’ve suspected that persecutions might indeed be brought on in the not-so-distant future. 

Naturally, that gave me some pause:  Do I really want to want to rejoin this Church?  Do I really want to identify myself as a Catholic?  Do I really want to live with the possibility, no matter how slim, of facing persecution someday?  It was a very serious decision for me.  You see, I had decided that if I was going to rejoin the Church and become a Catholic again, I was going to do it all the way, and to the end.  It was almost like deciding to get married.  There was not going to be any easy out.  I was never going to abandon my commitment.  I was going to be in it through thick and thin, better or worse, life or death.

Obviously, I decided to go ahead with it.  Because it’s just worth it.  I couldn’t imagine giving up so much out of a silly fear.  And I have never looked back.  My life would hardly be worth living if I didn’t have my Lord and my Church and my faith.  I’m not even afraid any more.  No matter what kind of hardship anybody might force on me, I will always know that my Lord and King has already borne the brunt of it for me.  To follow in His footsteps, in ways great or small, is nothing but a privilege unto me, and glory unto Him.  So, whatever anybody might try to gain from persecuting me would be only illusory–in reality, they would only be glorifying my Lord!  They might as well prostrate themselves before His feet! 

So, by one of those funny “coincidences” of life, I feel like saying once again: “Bring on the persecutions!” 

