I know it’s pretty old news by now.  I’ve been meaning to comment on it, but thought it best to maintain custody of my lips (and fingers).

At this point, of course, no response of mine could possibly top The Curt Jester’s, which I respectfully reproduce here in its full glory for your viewing pleasure and mine:

By now I am sure that you have heard that the US bishops rejected the proposed translation of Roman Missal. I do have an exclusive thought.  The bishops have sent along some guidance to the International Commission for English in the Liturgy (ICEL) as to what would be acceptable. The following are some actual example pages shown.

Along with some rubrics for the GIRM.

Bishop Trautman called the sample changes “Great for both John and Mary Catholic and Dick and Jane Catholic.” Catholic blogger Father Z called these proposals ineffable and that he would rather be strung up on a gibbet than use this translation for Mass.

To which Father Z replied:  “Darn right!”

Let us all pray for our bishops and for a proper translation of our liturgical texts!

