My first meme on my new blog!  :D  Thanks to the fabulous Seraphic Single!

The Rules:

1. Link to the person who tagged you.
2. Mention the rules on your blog.
3. Tell about six unspectacular quirks of yours.
4. Tag six fellow bloggers by linking them.
5. Leave a comment on each of the six blogger’s blogs letting them know they’ve been tagged.

My Quirks:

1.  I am a very poor talker.  I am too deliberative a person to enter easily and quickly into conversations.  I always like to weigh my words and ideas–I feel like bad things happen when I don’t.  I especially despise talking on the telephone.  There are exceptions though–rare people with whom I just naturally talk easily.  For me, meeting people like that is better than winning the lottery!

2.  I am horrified of bugs.  If I know there’s a bug in my apartment, I can’t go to sleep until I get it out (or until I collapse from sheer exhaustion).  And I always have to get it out–I can’t just kill the darn things, in spite of how much I dislike them.

3.  On the other hand, I love plants enormously… but always kill them.  I can never keep them alive, despite my best efforts and most heartfelt dedication to them.  Losing a beloved plant makes me cry.  :(  I’ve reached the point where I’ve just accepted the fact that it’s in the best interest of plants and me if we don’t share the same home or cubicle. 

4.  I have a bad nervous habit of gnawing on my fingernails.  Not as bad as when I was a child, but still.  I always have to have a nail file handy to smooth over the evidence.  A lady such as myself should not have ragged fingernails!

5.  Despite my general love of books, I am a really finicky reader!  Especially with fiction.  I can’t tell you what it is that I like or dislike… it’s something undefinable.  It doesn’t matter how good a reputation a book may have, or how much I really want to like it–if it lacks that undefinable allure, reading it is like trying to walk through a brick wall.  I hate to say this, but one writer I just can’t read: J.R.R. Tolkien.  The oddest thing, though, is that despite all that, I managed to get an English degree!

6.  The color of my hair seems to be highly debatable.  Some people say it’s red.  Some say it’s brown.  Some say it’s blonde.  Actual arguments have ensued among people, much to my bafflement.  In reality, it’s a crazy mixture of all three, with a big bunch of (very premature) grey thrown in.  In any case, whenever I go to a hairstylist, they are always very impressed by my haircolor.  “Who did your color?”  I smile and say, “God Himself!”  :)

I tag: 

Jennifer F. 

Darth Beckman 

Rachele

Father V.

Stella

Will Duquette

… And anybody else who feels like playing!  :D

