As you can surely see, I’ve gotten really upset by Prof. Myers’ actions.  As I see it, he has done something very wicked toward my Lord and toward my fellow Catholics.  Actions of a kind he has not (to my knowledge) shown toward any other religion, despite his add-on desecrations of a Koran and an atheist book.  Actions that translate in my mind to “Catholic-hating coward.”  I stand by that assessment of his actions.  I don’t really know what else to think.

But I stand by forgiving the man even more than I do my own opinions of his actions.  Maybe I could do better than to vent my upset about the whole sordid affair, but, well… I’m not a saint yet.  I do intend to make that upset an occasion of grace for myself, and hopefully for Myers.  If I weren’t so upset, I would hardly have anything to forgive him for, would I?  As it is, I am more than willing to forgive him, just as my Lord is willing to forgive him… or me.  Having received mercy myself, how can I not give it to others?

Alas, it probably won’t come as easily to me as it does to my Lord.  Forgiving is a process.  A process that changes the forgiver and makes the forgiver a better person.  I am open to that self-change and that self-improvement.  I have no idea whether it will change or even affect Myers.  I should hope it would, but that’s out of my hands.  That’s between God and Myers’ free will.  I know for certain that it will change me.  Given that I need all the help I can get… it can only be a good thing.

Of course, I cannot possibly express this as well as Shakespeare did in The Merchant of Venice:

PORTIA: The quality of mercy is not strain’d,
It droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven
Upon the place beneath: it is twice blest;
It blesseth him that gives and him that takes:
‘Tis mightiest in the mightiest: it becomes
The throned monarch better than his crown;

Though justice be thy plea, consider this,
That, in the course of justice, none of us
Should see salvation: we do pray for mercy;
And that same prayer doth teach us all to render
The deeds of mercy.

…Forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us…

