Senator Joe Biden, Barack Obama’s running-mate, has followed in Nancy Pelosi’s steps on “Meet the Press,” trying to publicly justify his support of abortion even though he’s supposedly a Catholic (and everybody knows Catholics don’t believe in abortion!).  Unlike Pelosi, who tried to use St. Augustine to rationalize her beliefs, Biden tries to use St. Thomas Aquinas.  Mostly, though, he uses good ol’ modern moral relativism–you know, that thing Pope Benedict is always speaking out against?

From page 4 of the transcript (with my emphases):

I’d say, “Look, I know when [human life] begins for me.”  It’s a personal and private issue. For me, as a Roman Catholic, I’m prepared to accept the teachings of my [C]hurch. But let me tell you. There are an awful lot of people of great confessional faiths—Protestants, Jews, Muslims and others – who have a different view.  They believe in God as strongly as I do. They’re intensely as religious as I am religious. They believe in their faith and they believe in human life, and they have differing views as to when life – I’m prepared as a matter of faith to accept that life begins at the moment of conception. But that is my judgment. For me to impose that judgment on everyone else who is equally and maybe even more devout than I am seems to me is inappropriate in a pluralistic society.

“It’s a personal and private issue”?  It is? That’s news to me!  As far as I can tell, both science and religion have definitively and very publicly ruled on this “issue.”

Did you notice that every time he professes his adherence to Catholic teaching, he then immediately says “but”?  There are no buts about it!  We Catholics are who we are, we believe what we believe, and we strive to live out those beliefs to the very best of our ability–PERIOD. We don’t subject them to anybody or anything.  Got that, Joe?  So decide and tell us straight–are you Catholic or not?

And it’s just great that he’s letting the religious views of non-Catholics and non-Christians determine his public policy, while showing no concern at all for the scandal he is giving his fellow Catholics (some of whom are also “equally and maybe even more devout than” he is).  He is essentially throwing us and our beliefs under the train.  This is a perfect example of why I say that he and his ilk are making themselves and all Catholic Americans second-class citizens:  Members of other faiths can influence the public sphere, but Catholics?  No way!  We Catholics have to shut up and keep our faith locked up inside our churches and our houses.  It is self-hatred of the worst kind, and it is glossed over as part of living in a “pluralistic society.”

What a crock!

A Catholic politician should stand up for their own beliefs–the ones they share with all their fellow Catholic citizens–and if the non-Catholics and non-Christians don’t want to vote for them, they don’t have to.  For pity’s sake, don’t let them control what we Catholics stand for!

Incidentally, of course, I think that many of them stand for the very same things we do, so Biden’s excuses ring pretty hollow.  I don’t think he actually cares about anybody or their principles, except maybe the radical liberals and their messiah Obama.

I hope the bishops respond as strongly to Biden as they have to Pelosi.

Much more coverage and commentary by Thomas Peters at American Papist and Father Z at WDTPRS.

