I’m looking for modern classical and/or sacred music. By modern, I roughly mean late-19th-century through today.  Fresh and unique, but not unnecessarily broken from the classical tradition… music that takes the classical tradition to new places.  Sophisticated, elegant, well-crafted by master musicians, using classical instruments and/or choirs.

To give you an idea of what I already love, think French composers like Debussy, Ravel, Fauré, Satie, Duruflé, Poulenc.  I fell in love with these as a piano student and choir singer, and have never tired of their music.  But I think my horizons could use some broadening!

I’d also love to know about any good Catholic sacred/liturgical/hymn composers.  I’m convinced that they are out there… even though we don’t seem to hear very much of them…  I am not interested in anything that even vaguely resembles folk music, pop, rock, or any such thing.  I’m looking for solid classical underpinnings.

Note, however, that I do not dislike folk, pop, rock, etc.  Far from it.  But that type of music is everywhere, including, sadly in our churches.  I’m looking for something more rare and elusive.

Please, suggest away!

