I woke up this morning to find that my power was out.  I heard my neighbors talking outside: the whole neighborhood was out, and it might be 1:00 before power was restored.  I still don’t know what caused it, and it didn’t really matter at the time.  At first, I was just thinking:  Great, what am I gonna do without power?  You never realize how huge a part of your life it is until it’s out.  But then, I became more concerned about my cats and about the food in the fridge and freezer.  And, more than once, I thanked God that this is October instead of July!  Having resigned myself, I opened up the windows and set out to make the best of it.

I haven’t been extremely on-the-ball with my prayer life lately, so the first thing I did was say Morning Prayer, a Rosary, and other miscellaneous prayers.  It was nice not to have any distractions.  For once, I wasn’t tempted to watch TV or turn on my computer instead.

Then I ate some breakfast and took a shower (thankfully there was still plenty of warm water).  Then I opened my balcony door to get some extra wind going through the apartment, and I sat in the doorway while my cats ventured out to explore and roll around on the concrete.  Then I came in and used what was left of my laptop’s power to entertain myself with solitaire and pinball.

I thought about going out somewhere, but I didn’t think it would be fair, or very kind of me, to go out and leave the cats here.  Not that they seemed really distressed or anything, but still.  By 1:00, I was really feeling tired, so I took a nap.  When I woke up about 1:20, the power was still off.  I was just about to call the power company for an update when everything came back on.

HURRAY!!!!  Thank God!!!!  The amount of sheer gratitude and relief I felt took me aback!  As did the great joy I felt to throw some laundry in the washing machine and grab my vacuum cleaner and microwave some corn dogs for lunch!  I wanted to go to Mass this afternoon, but I think I should instead get caught up on housework before the Lord’s Day arrives.

I am still totally jazzed about having my power back on–I don’t think I’ll ever take electricity for granted again!  I really don’t know how people lived without it.

But this morning wasn’t bad.  It was sort of like a little retreat.  Quiet and still, with few distractions.  Quality time with God.  And overall, a very good lesson in appreciating what I have–and staying positive when things don’t exactly go as planned.

