I am no fan of modernism, post-modernism, or any of that.  But that doesn’t mean I don’t love modernity!  I’m late 20th- and early-21st-century through and through!  I’m sure there’s a reason God put me at this spot in the time line, and I aim to enjoy it and make the most of it!

As I was driving home from work today, it was a mostly-overcast evening, in that glorious twilight between light and dark.  I live pretty close to Love Field, pretty much right underneath the landing pattern.  As I slowly made my way home through traffic and stop lights, I watched a succession of jet liners emerge from the clouds, their white lights glittering brightly against the grey.  It was really quite a wondrous thing.

For a moment, I allowed myself to be dazzled by this occurrence that can be so very everyday and mundane.  I could imagine Monet painting such a scene if he and the Impressionist Movement were alive today.  The clouds–sweeps of muted greys and violets–pierced by the white lights of the descending jet liners… the dim, overshadowing outline of Cityplace Tower or the AT&T building, with a mishmash of cars and red lights below.  A beautiful picture!

And then I started laughing to myself.  I was tickled to think about one of my ancestors from even just 100 years ago suddenly popping into this evening in 2008, and what on earth they would think if they saw those lights in the sky, soon to realize that the lights were attached to some giant, roaring, metal-bird-looking flying machine!

Or, for that matter, what they would think of sitting in my little Honda, zipping down the street at a dizzying velocity of 30 MPH!  All while listening to music that they might recognize–with the sound of a full orchestra filling that tiny space!

It’s amazing, sometimes, what we take for granted.

I thank God for my life… my life here… my life now.

Related Post: Reflection on Timelessness

