During the past 24 hours, I’ve cycled through the gamut of emotions and the grief cycle regarding Sen. Obama’s presidential win.

And now… I think it’s OK.

Not that I’ve changed my views to match his, or anything crazy like that.  No… it really comes down to the Serenity Prayer, doesn’t it:

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
courage to change the things I can,
and the wisdom to know the difference.

I can’t change the fact that Obama is going to be the president of my country.  So I’m just going to march on to the next campaign: namely, to do everything I possibly can to make sure Pres. Obama doesn’t make FOCA the law of the land.

And while I march on to this next campaign, I’m praying with every step that the campaign won’t really need to be fought.  I’m praying that, by the grace of God, Pres. Obama will come around, ditch his friends from Planned Parenthood, and, at the very least, allow current restrictions on abortion to keep standing.  Or who knows, maybe he’ll renounce all his previous pro-abortion positions and take actual, practical steps to curtail abortion.  Now that would be change!  And I and the rest of the Church Militant could turn toward home, singing Non Nobis and Te Deum.

Yeah, I know, the chances of things working out that way are slim.  Maybe nearly non-existent.

But remember this: if this race were taking place 4 years ago, I would have been one of those crying and fainting people at an Obama rally.  I would have looked to him as a messiah, because Heaven knows I didn’t accept the real one.  In fact, I could have given most Obama supporters a run for their money with my ultra-liberal ideology, which included being pro-choice in the extreme.

Think of that person I was a mere 4 years ago.  And look at the person I am now.  How did such a radical and fundamental change come about?  It was God’s grace.  Sheer, utter grace.  And no doubt the accumulated prayers of my parents and other loved ones.  We need to give Obama, Biden, and all our civil leaders our prayers!  Prayers for special graces of conversion, prayers that they may seek and fulfill God’s will.

Pray!  Fast!  Do penance!  Keep your Rosary close at hand, as if it were your sword.  Remember Lepanto.  Nothing is impossible with God.

Write to your congresspeople to tell them you don’t want FOCA.  Write to your bishop and encourage him to speak out–or continue to speak out.  And don’t forget to thank him!

Go to Fight FOCA and sign their petition!

