As you may recall, Sts. Martha and Mary were my Patron Saints for 2008.  These dear sisters and friends of Christ have been good companions for me, in ways big and small.

When I was given my Saints, I was also given the prayer intention of praying for homemakers.  My personal intention was that I would become a better homemaker myself.  I still have a way to go with that, but I have made improvements!  I cook more, take better care of things, and I feel more at home in my apartment, which, for a long time was just a roof over my head and often a reinforcement of certain griefs–not a home.  That has changed a little, though there’s still a long way to go.

Perhaps most importantly, my time with the sisters from Bethany has helped me to become more at peace and more joyful in my life as a single lay woman!  That is an especially welcome change.  I have spent a lot less time dwelling on what I don’t have, and being grateful for what I do have.

Maybe these things have just changed naturally with time… but I have no doubt that I have also received quite a bit of supernatural intercession and assistance!

Well, a new year is almost upon us, and while I’m in no hurry to leave the patronage of Sts. Martha and Mary, I was pretty excited to see who I would be walking with in 2009.  I found that the good ladies at The Pious Sodality of Church Ladies are picking Patron Saints for people, so I contacted them, and my Patron Saint for 2009 is…

*drumroll*

St. Jason! St. Jason sheltered St. Paul and his companions while they were evangelizing in Thessalonica.  Acts 17:4-9 tell us:

Some of [the Jews in the synagogue] were convinced and joined Paul and Silas; so, too, a great number of Greeks who were worshipers, and not a few of the prominent women.  But the Jews became jealous and recruited some worthless men loitering in the public square, formed a mob, and set the city in turmoil.  They marched on the house of Jason, intending to bring them before the people’s assembly.  When they could not find them, they dragged Jason and some of the brothers before the city magistrates, shouting, “These people who have been creating a disturbance all over the world have now come here, and Jason has welcomed them. They all act in opposition to the decrees of Caesar and claim instead that there is another king, Jesus.” They stirred up the crowd and the city magistrates who, upon hearing these charges, took a surety payment from Jason and the others before releasing them.

My prayer intention for the year is:  Pray for the virtue of hospitality.

So it seems that now that I’ve received some special blessings during 2008, I will be spending 2009 learning to share my blessings with others, to welcome and give help and comfort to others, even if, as in St. Jason’s case, it may take courage and a willingness to get into hot water and not count the cost to myself.

More about St. Jason from the Patron Saints Index: “Legend says he was bishop of Tarsus in Cilicia, and evangelized the Greek island of Corfu.  While imprisoned for preaching the faith, he helped convert the Martyrs of Corfu.”  He himself died by being torn apart by wild animals.  His feast day is 12 July.

This should be interesting!

