I wish all my readers a wonderful 2009–may it be filled with every blessing for you and your loved ones!

Remember: it’s also the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God–a holy day of obligation, so don’t forget to go to Mass!

I just want to say that it has been a great joy to share this blog with you and to hear from some of you in reply.  You readers have helped to make this blog worthwhile.  I am grateful, and I remember you each day in my prayers.

This past year has been a momentous one.

On a personal level, I was admitted to the Order of Preachers on 9 March–still one of the happiest and most exciting days of my life so far!  Being admitted to the Order as a novice Lay Dominican has helped me to mature greatly, both spiritually and intellectually.  It has provided me a tremendous support system–a true family, spanning the globe and the Communion of Saints and nearly 800 years!  I look forward to continuing my journey in 2009 and beyond!

Of course, this year was very important for the United States, as we participated in our presidential election and saw the landmark election of our first black president.  The joy and excitement of that landmark was unfortunately darkened by disappointment, worry, and dismay at President-elect Obama’s extreme pro-abortion stance.  As his inauguration approaches, those feelings remain, along with a rather tense expectancy: What will he really do as president? Will he or won’t he moderate his stance on abortion?

This new year is full of promise as well, however: the pro-life movement has been mobilizing to meet the challenges of the new administration, with unprecedented support and guidance from our Catholic bishops.  There’s a definite energy, vigilance, and seriousness in the air–some of that “crusading spirit” I mentioned the other day.

All in all, I think we’ve got an interesting and exciting year ahead!

