…for me to attend my first Tridentine Mass.  I’ve been thinking about it for a long time.  But now I just feel the time is right.  Just as I felt on 12 May 2007 that the time was right to join the Lay Dominicans.

I like it when things happen this way, nicely, without any trauma or drama.  The phrase I’ve always used for it is “a gravity on my soul.”  A gentle yet irresistible drawing toward something.  Just when the time is right.  And all I have to do is allow it; I learned long ago that fighting it is futile and usually painful.  The trauma and drama start up when you fight the gentle gravity on your soul.

Of course, if you’re being gently pulled toward something evil, then you fight!  The devil is smart and capable of great subtlety.   He tries to imitate the gentle, holy gravity God exerts on us.  He tries to imitate the still small voice, the little whispering sound.  And we are all too willing to accept it.  This is why it is so important to stand by the Church’s teachings and form your conscience in her light.  Otherwise, you’ll be all out to sea.  You might end up fighting God instead of fighting the devil as you should–that is not a good situation to be in, and believe me, you can’t win in it.

But I digress.

I’ve also been thinking about getting myself a head-covering of some kind.  I don’t think the lacy veils are my style.  They were my style back in my goth days.  But then, I wore them out on the town, not to church.  I wore them to be eye-catching, not humble.  I don’t have anything against other ladies wearing lacy veils.  They just have a different “meaning” in my life, and one that doesn’t really belong at Mass.

So, I’m thinking that either a simple hat or maybe a plain, solid scarf will work better for me.

Does anybody have any words of advice–either about the Tridentine Mass or about the head-covering?  Words of encouragement will be appreciated also.  :)

I think I’m going to try to go this weekend, with or without a head-covering.  Unless somebody tells me that it would be incredibly gauche or inappropriate to go without a head-covering.

