I think my Lenten discipline usually starts flagging in week 4.  That’s been very true this week.

I usually arrive at the end of Lent thinking, “Gosh, I really slacked off–I wish I had done more!”  Lots of shame.

The good thing is that this year, I’ve got enough experience behind me to recognize it and head it off.  And rather than getting discouraged, I just want to get back on track!

So, this morning I got out of bed before 6 and went to Mass at 6:30!  The Latin Mass!  I had actually set it as a Lenten goal that at least once, I was going to go to the 6:30 AM Latin Mass.  And I’ve done it!  That got my day off to an excellent start and revived my determination and will to persevere!

This afternoon I will have ample opportunity to discipline my eating–our library dean is holding one of her afternoon teas, and there is always sooooo much good food.  It’s going to be hard to resist going wild.  But I can do it!

I’m planning to attend the Stations of the Cross this evening.  In previous years, I have only attended on Good Friday afternoon.  I’m usually so worn out by Friday night.  But I know it will be of great benefit to me if I make it a more frequent practice.

