pope1_overlay

I’m sorry that it took his death for me to get to know him and appreciate him. 

It seems just like yesterday… Patrick was alive, and we spent hours on the phone together while we watched all the news coverage, trading info about what was happening on this or that channel.  I remember listening in silence to the Litany of Saints during the funeral, and Patrick commenting on how beautiful it was.  Patrick also told me he’d gone to a memorial Mass, and I was surprised… but really, it was just like him to do that.  Pope John Paul II’s death drew me and Patrick closer together, and drew both of us closer to the Church.  I’m sure we weren’t the only ones, either.

At home, now, I’m watching the movie based on his life.  The one with Cary Elwes and Jon Voight.  It’s a lovely film, and I think it’s a very good tribute to our dear late papa.

This day used to be very sad and mournful for me.  Mainly because it meant that the anniversary of Patrick’s death was on its way.  But this year, I just feel so grateful!  My memories are fond.  I’m finally getting to where I can cherish them!  That’s a good place to be.

