This sort of keeps up the theme of concentrating on God:

“Brothers, I do not think of myself as having reached the finish line. I give no thought to what lies behind but push on to what is ahead. My entire attention is on the finish line as I run toward the prize to which God calls me–life on high in Christ Jesus. All of us who are spiritually mature must have this attitude.”
~ Philippians 3: 13- 15

I have such a bad habit sometimes of thinking that I am already at the finish line… or even across it.  That makes me prey to all sorts of nonsense… like worrying over the past.  Or worrying period.

Sometimes I need to be taken down a peg or two or ten.  I need to see things as they really are–that is the real meaning of humility.  I need to be reminded that I still have plenty of spiritual growing up to do.

Who better than St. Paul to do that?  :)

