I meant to post this earlier, but the darnedest thing kept happening… my laptop kept getting possessed whenever I attempted to post.

But of course, the mere mention of St. Catherine of Siena and Pope St. Pius V would strike anger and fear into the forces of Hell!  ;)

St. Catherine of Siena (1347-1380) is the Patron Saint of Lay Dominicans (as you probably gathered from the icon and inscription in the sidebar).  She is also a Doctor of the Church, counselor to popes, mystic, stigmatist, and whole-hearted spouse of Christ.

Pope St. Pius V (1504-1572) promulgated the reforms of the Council of Trent.  He is perhaps best known for exhorting the people of Europe to pray the Rosary for victory over the invading Turks.  The Christian forces won a miraculous victory at the Battle of Lepanto.  I’ve heard it said that the custom of popes wearing white began with Pope St. Pius and his Dominican habit.

St. Catherine of Siena receiving the stigmata Pope St. Pius V

Also, I thought I would take this occasion to say that I shall make my temporary profession as a Lay Dominican next month, 17 May!  I’m so excited about giving myself more fully to the Church and the Order of Preachers!  I pray that I may do them both honor!

St. Catherine of Siena and Pope St. Pius V, ora pro nobis!

