I just finished watching  A Hand of Peace: Pope Pius XII and the Holocaust.  It’s a beautiful documentary with powerful historical footage as well as interviews with both Christian and Jewish scholars and writers and the priest who is in charge of Pope Pius’s cause for canonization.  It gives the origins of the “black legend” that arose around the pope in the early 1960’s and how this legend  is soundly refuted by basic historical facts.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know how I admire Pope Pius XII and wish for his canonization as soon as possible.  Seeing him in action and hearing his voice was very moving.

I’ve already posted evidence that he was an animal lover.  Here’s some more:

Pope Pius XII with bird

The Holy Father had expected the Holy Spirit to be a bit more impressive in person.

(Yes, I know…  But we just passed Pentecost, and there’s something irresistable about captioning photographs of popes with animals!  I suspect that both Papa Pacelli and the Holy Spirit would be amused.)

Anyway.  I highly recommend this video.  (I learned of that photo from the video, btw.)

