After Mass this morning, a young lady was leaving the church at the same time I was.  As we went out, she turned to me and said, “Thank you for veiling.”  I saw that she had a white lace veil folded in her hand.

I was so pleasantly surprised by her kind comment that I was nearly stunned!  I think I managed to say something like, “Oh, um, you’re welcome.”  Which, I realized 2 seconds later, was totally lame.  What I was thinking was more like, “Oh, bless you, and thank you for veiling also!  You just made my day!  Have a lovely Sunday!”

Alas, I’ve always had this crazy roadblock between my mind and my mouth.  That’s what I mean when I say I’m a poor speaker.  Or is it more a case of being “socially inept?”  In either case:  Doh!  I hope I didn’t come across as rude.

But, my incredibly clumsy response aside… what a wonderful comment!  What a wonderful encouragement!

