The wonderful feast days keep coming!  Today we honor our most special companions and helpers, the guardian angels!

Red angel glassThere’s a special child-like quality to believing in, knowing, and praying to our holy guardians.  Child-like, but not childish.  Acknowledging our guardian angels reminds us that in God’s eyes we are children, and He loves us enough to give us mighty angels to help us safely home to Him.  Among all the wonderful gifts He has given us, the guardian angels are one of the best!

So, let us not imagine ourselves to be above thanking and praying to our guardian angels.  Let us embrace the simple, beautiful prayers that have been passed down to us:

Dear Angel, in his goodness God gave you to me to guide, protect and enlighten me, and to being me back to the right way when I go astray. Encourage me when I am disheartened, and instruct me when I err in my judgment. Help me to become more Christlike, and so some day to be accepted into the company of Angels and Saints in heaven. Amen.

Or:

Guardian Angel from heaven so bright,
Watching beside me to lead me aright,
Fold your wings ’round me,
and guard me with love,
Softly sing songs to me
of heaven above.
Amen.

Or the one my dad taught me when I was a child, which I still pray:

Angel of God,
my Guardian dear,
to whom His love
commits me here,
ever this day
be at my side,
to light and guard,
to rule and guide.
Amen.

Let us strive to be ever closer and more devoted to our holy guardians!

(photo by Lawrence, OP)

Angel of God,
my Guardian dear,
to whom His love
commits me here,
ever this day
be at my side,
to light and guard,
to rule and guide.
Amen.


