Today was the Dallas March for Life/Roe v. Wade Memorial.  I didn’t go to the Rosary or the Mass, but just to the march and the rally.  I got to the cathedral before the Mass was over, and the plaza in front of the cathedral was already jam-packed!  I don’t know if we reached our goal of 10,000 participants, but there sure was a crowd in any case!

I somehow managed to find Julie and her husband, which made me happy–it’s sort of been a tradition for me to attend the march with them.  I saw plenty of other folks from our parish, and saw one of my Lay Dominican sisters in the crowd.  We happened to walk beside this lovely lady, Mrs. Terry Jenkins, who was talking about how she and her husband had gone to jail before for protesting against abortion.  Julie struck up a conversation with her and learned that she has been a pro-life activist since Roe v. Wade came about.  I wish I could have listened in more on her stories, but I was so pitifully hard of hearing, especially in the middle of the crowd and noise.  One thing I could tell very easily was that she was so delighted to see the young people taking up the standard and ensuring that the cause will be carried forward.  And it was a wonderful privilege for me to meet somebody who helped get the cause started.

Here’s a photo of me, Mrs. Jenkins, and Julie after the rally (thanks to Julie’s husband, Tom for taking it).  I call this one “Ladies on Crusade”!

The signs were being handed out by one of the other marchers.  They were made by the Silent No More Awareness Campaign, which seems like a very good Christian campaign against abortion.  From their Web site:

Silent No More Awareness is a Campaign whereby Christians make the public aware of the devastation abortion brings to women and men. The campaign seeks to expose and heal the secrecy and silence surrounding the emotional and physical pain of abortion.

The Campaign is a project of Priests for Life and Anglicans for Life.

I have to say, though, one of my favorite signs of the day was this one:

I like the little baby with the cowboy hat.  And for those of you unfamiliar with Texas, the slogan is a play on the state’s iconic anti-littering slogan, “Don’t Mess with Texas.”

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get too many good photos this year–partly because the crowd was so huge and there weren’t really any good vantage points–and I’m not going to complain about that!  I’m sure that the Catholic Pro-Life Committee of Dallas will be posting some photos soon.

Read Julie’s account of the day too.

Here is my post from last year.

