As usual, I’ve been assigned a Lenten Lesson.  God always gives me a strong nudge to work on something particular each Lent.  This year, it’s all about keeping things in proper perspective.  This means a couple of things:

1.  Not giving anything priority over God, my relationship with Him, and my journey to Him. For instance, saying morning and evening prayers right after waking in the morning and right after getting home from work in the evening–and not letting anything distract me from it.

2.  Not worrying, getting upset, or being impatient about things that don’t matter. For instance, that driver who cuts me off or drives too slowly when I’m on my way to work.  As long as they don’t do anything to maim or kill me or somebody else, it really doesn’t matter.  It’s not worth swearing like a sailor and arriving at the office in a really foul mood.

It’s about realizing and re-affirming how important God is, and how good life is.  It’s about being vigilant to the devil and the ways in which he slimily slithers in between me and those realizations.  As our deacon reminded us today: If the devil was audacious enough to tempt the Son of God, then he’s certainly audacious enough to tempt you and me.  And it often starts with just a little shift, a little nudge.

Like all Lenten Lessons, this one should be very instructive and very worthwhile.  I really need this.

I hope and pray that everybody has a blessed and fruitful Lent!

