Mark of Joe Versus the Volcano invited me to do this meme:

Name your three most favourite prayers, and explain why they’re your favourites. Then tag five bloggers – give them a link, and then go and tell them they have been tagged. Finally, tell the person who tagged you that you’ve completed the meme… The Liturgy and the Sacraments are off limits here. I’m more interested in people’s favourite devotional prayers.

1.  The Rosary. Because I would lose all credibility as a Dominican if this weren’t one of my favorite prayers.  ;) Seriously, all you have to do is search my posts for “rosary” and you’ll see why this prayer is so important to me. It draws us so deeply and intimately into the lives of Jesus and Mary, and through them also into the lives and workings of God the Father and the Holy Spirit. It helps us build a real relationship with them–and Christianity is pretty empty and even meaningless without that relationship.

2. The Lord’s Prayer. It’s the perfect prayer, taught by Christ Himself! I find that meditating upon this prayer helps deepen my relationship with God the Father (to whom it is addressed, after all). It is really a list of petitions and teaches us how to put trust in His providence and to be humble and dependent upon Him–not in a servile way, but in a filial way. It helps us be like children and seek out His embrace. Again, our faith is pretty much empty and meaningless without that relationship.

3.  The Guardian Angel prayer that my dad taught me when I was very young.  Partly because it reminds me of Dad, and partly because I really need my guardian angel! It’s just a very simple but beautiful prayer:

Angel of God, my guardian dear,
To whom His love commits me here,
Ever this day be at my side
To light, to guard, to rule and guide.
Amen.

It reminds me not only that my guardian angel is there, but that he is there especially for me, commissioned by God, and does so much for me every day and night.

