St. John Berchmans (1599-1621), a Jesuit novice and Patron Saint of altar servers and young people. From SQPN:

John Berchmans was not noted for extraordinary feats of holiness or austerity, nor did he found orders or churches or work flashy miracles. He made kindness, courtesy, and constant fidelity an important part of his holiness. The path to holiness can lie in the ordinary rather than the extraordinary.

I think that is why he has chosen me as his beneficiary: I need to get back to the basics of holiness–and also back to my blog which I began largely to share the message that the path holiness can lie in the ordinary!

I look forward to my year with this young Saint!  I think this is the first time my Patron will be younger than me (by mortal reckoning).  I’m hoping I may find myself rejuvenated a bit.  I could use it!