My goodness, where has this year gone?  It seems like only yesterday we were at the end of the Church’s year, and yet here we are again, approaching the first Sunday of Advent!

I’ve decided that, as a way of entering more deeply into the liturgical year and a way of deepening my spiritual life, I am going to make some resolutions for this new Church year.

In general, I want to keep living my life more and more by the mottoes “What Would Mary Do?” and “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His justice, and all these things shall be added unto you.”

What I want to work on most is having and maintaining a constant spirit of joy and love, no matter what is happening to me or around me. Being joyful and loving is always a choice–and I want to make the right choice more often, so often that it becomes habitual. This includes being joyful even if I am hurting or feel sad. It also includes being loving to everybody, even those who have not been good to me. I want to do these things freely, without counting the cost or expecting anything in return.

Also, I resolve to write blog posts far more often than I have been!

I think that should keep me plenty busy and challenged for a year!

A happy and blessed Thanksgiving Day to my fellow Americans!  I am looking forward to feasting with my family tomorrow!  :)

Related post:

How true a subject am I?: Reflections at the end of the Church year