Several times in the last few months, I have heard others say that Christians are living in a fairy tale, out of touch with reality.  Incidentally, this has happened with the same few months that I have been struggling very hard with pretty much everything–including my faith and spiritual life.  I’ve managed to bite my tongue lest I blurt out a less-than-charitable response to that ridiculous claim.

But allow me to set the record straight here:  Christianity is no fairy tale.  And it doesn’t take some deep philosophical/theological/spiritual treatise to explain why that is so.  I’ll tell you why it is so, and that is because if it were a fairy tale, my life would be a heck of a lot easier.

It’s pretty telling that while I have heard more than a few people claim that I’m living a fairy tale, I have yet heard anybody explain to me exactly what part of my life resembles a fairy tale, and what part of my life is out of touch with reality.  Face it, I do everything that everybody else does every day: I work, I pay bills and taxes, I sit in traffic, I eat and sleep, I buy groceries, I vote, I obey laws, I like being with friends and family, I like having fun, I long for happiness.  I share in all the joys, drudgeries, and responsibilities of life.  And sometimes I really struggle–I get tired, I get sick, I get injured, I get broke financially, I have times when absolutely nothing seems to go right, I get depressed, I get discouraged, I lose my temper, I lose hope.  All the things that “normal” people do, I do too.

Only, I also do more–I also live a Christian life.  I also try to fulfill responsibilities and offer service to God, my Church, and my fellow man that are above and beyond the civil, human, personal duties and services common to us all.  And you know what?  The Christian life isn’t some kind of fairy dust that makes all the other things go away or get easier.  In fact, it sometimes makes them more challenging, more urgent, and more complicated.  It adds a new layer to everything.  It demands that I think more critically and deeply about everyday life and what actions I take.

Far from supplanting my life in the “real world,” my Christianity demands that I take it more seriously and enter more deeply into it.  I have to follow Christ.  Which means I have to be charitable to everybody, not just the people I like, and at the same time I have to be willing to take a stand and tell people things they don’t want to hear, things that might even make people hate my guts and the guts of my stupid, out-of-touch religion.  And I have to struggle with all of that too.

So, say what you will about Christianity, but it’s not a fairy tale, it’s not removed from reality, and it’s not easy.  In fact, life without it is often far easier.  I’ve lived with it and without it, you know, so I am able to make the comparison. To be concerned only for the here and now and the people and creatures at hand is far easier than to be beholden to an eternal, transcendent God.  To worry only about being nice or compassionate or tolerant is far easier than to be bound by the demands of true charity.  To treat Sunday like an extension of Saturday is far easier than to treat it as the sacred Lord’s Day.  To be able to hem and haw and adjust one’s beliefs and morals according to what is popular in society or what is easiest in a given situation is far easier than to stand firm with absolute truths no matter what.

Christianity is not an escape from, or replacement for, the “real world.”  Rather, it’s a whole additional world that overlays the “real world”–and in fact is like a super-real world where everything takes on a new light and new significance.  And my life–my little ol’ life–is supposed to encompass both of them!  That’s not the kind of fairy tale I would write for myself, folks!  I’d be some kind of crazy masochist if that were the case.  But I’m neither crazy nor a masochist–nothing in my nature or conduct would give evidence of that.

So, with all of this said, why am I a Christian?  The answer, again, is simple.  I’m a Christian because Christianity is true, good, and beautiful.  It is everything that is worth striving and fighting and suffering for.  It is not a fairy tale, but rather is an epic reality that calls the most ordinary of persons–such as little ol’ me–to be heroic, saintly, and above all genuine–to be more, not less, of a real human being.  It makes me better and more complete than the person I was when I did not live a Christian life.  It makes me care more about what is important than what is easy.  It’s really that simple.